Winter is my least favorite season…enter {reading list}

The trees are dormant, the air is too cold and the sky always seems to be gray.

Reading is one way I can make it through the cold days and chilly nights without loosing my mind. And it’s one of my favorite past times!

And as we gear up for Mister D’s busy season (12+ hour work days, 7 days a week), I’ve been thinking a lot about or goals and priorities as a family.

This year, with two kids 2 years old and under, I definitely need to make the best of Mister D’s crazy work schedule. I still want to enjoy my little family while still investing in myself through the upcoming hard season.

I want to begin a more structured learning program for Emma Rose, to invest more in my quiet times, increase my workout schedule, and to continue to build freelance writing opportunities. With these goals in focus, my reading list is a little less ambitious for 2017.

But I wanted to share it with you anyway.

And since my list is embarrassingly small this year, I wanted to share some of my favorite reads of the past as well!

Anything to get us through to Summer, right?!


When a Woman Inspires Her Husband by Cindi McMenamin

The Church by Mark Dever

Habits of Grace by David Mathis

Idols of the Heart by Elise Fitzpatrick

True Beauty by Carolyn McCulley

Am I Really A Christian by Mike McKinley

Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance

Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst

Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper

Transforming Grace by Jerry Bridges


AND here are a few of my past favorites:


BOOKS ON MARRIAGE:



Love and Respect by Dr Emerson Eggerichs

This Momentary Marriage by John Piper

Love That Lasts by Gary and Betsy Ricucci


BOOKS ON WIFE, MOTHERHOOD & WOMANHOOD:


The Measure of Success by Carolyn McCulley

The Excellent Wife by Martha Peace

Feminine Appeal by Carolyn Mahaney

Lies Women Believe by Nancy Leigh DeMoss

Radical Womanhood by Carolyn McCulley


BOOKS ON THE CHRISTIAN LIFE:


The Unquenchable Flame by Michael Reeves

Humility by C.J. Mahaney

Knowing God by J.I Packer


FAVORITE CLASSICS: 

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

The Scarlett Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy

What’s on your reading list this year? Do you have any past favorites worth a re-read? I’d love to hear from you!

Psst…head over to Simply Misses D’s Facebook page for a book giveaway!

{Simply Misses D}

4 thoughts on “Winter is my least favorite season…enter {reading list}

  1. 10 books for one year with 2 kids is more than impressive! 2016 was my year for figuring out HOW to start reading again after 2 years of constant demands from little ones where I basically stopped ready altogether. I made it slowly through 4 whole books last year, and felt so revived. We have just in the last month or two reach a point where I have found how to sneak moments of reading into my days, and I’m a little more ambitious for 2017, including reading through the whole bible! I’ve already finished one book, and I’m working through 2 others. Tim has access to a HUGE collection of audio books, so instead of watching TV in the evenings together, we have been listening to books while I crochet. It’s been amazing and I am so looking forward to feeding my mind with QUALITY words this year. Sitting down now to write out my list, and we’ll see how many I get through!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the idea of audio books in the evening! We need to do that too!

      My reading list this year is small compared to the lists I’ve had in the past before kids but I’m pretty sure I won’t get through them all with two small kiddos running around. But I love to dream 🙂

      Thanks for the tips on audio books! Love love love that idea for something to do as a couple!

      Like

Leave a comment